Not an Odalisque

NaNoWriMo Day One

leave a comment »

I have three thousand words. Three thousand very bad words. I’m only on day one, and I’m dreading the edit. Where is this going to end?

I began, as promised, with ‘write what you know’. The thing I know best in the world is myself, and fortunately that is a topic in which I have an abiding interest. Who do I know second best? My closest friends! Two of them, however, recently expressed a great gladness that we have no more than walk on parts in a mutual friend’s novel. An in depth examination of my closest friends’ psychoses is obviously not called for before gin. Ex-lovers, on the other hand, aren’t going to bite back, and trust me, I know them. I know them in ways they don’t even know themselves.

A dig through my memories and their internet sites, and I have a composite character made up of several exes. He’s tall, he’s artistic and he thinks he knows everything. This time, though, I’m in control. This is going to be fun.

Written by Not an Odalisque

November 2, 2009 at 12:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

