Not an Odalisque

My Imaginary Lap Dancer

with 2 comments

I write stories. I try to tackle the issues people debate in the abstract with a personal approach. One of my characters has decided that she’s going to work at a lap dancing club. I hadn’t planned it, but it seems like an interesting path. Feminist writers and bloggers have a lot to say on the topic, as do campaign groups like Object. It is much harder to find the views of the people who work in the industry, or the clients. My personal experience is limited to seeing some pole dancing once in a lesbian club in Soho.

Why am I writing about something I haven’t experienced? If I don’t, then all I will ever produce is my autobiography. I think it is going to be interesting in terms of understanding gender construction, objectification, power relationships and sexuality, all of which are my area. We’ll see what happens.

I need more input. Have you ever worked doing lap dancing or pole dancing? Have you ever paid for these services? I want to hear from you. I realise that the experience is not uniform, the people, their motivations, what goes on at work all varies. Nonetheless, my character is a representation of people who seem to be talked about more than heard. If I have more information she can be a better representation.

I will take anything I can get. How did you get into it? How do you spend your time at work? What are the good bits, which bits don’t you like? Do you feel that it changes other people’s perceptions of you? How do you feel about your employers and the customers? Anything you want to tell me will be welcomed.

For the customers, I would love to know what your time at a club is like, what you enjoy about it, how the experience makes you feel, or whatever you want to share.

I don’t need anyone to tell me “lap dancing is wrong because…” I already know those arguments. If your story ends with “boo” or “yay” that’s great, though.

You can post in the comments section or email me at not.an.odalisque@gmail.com. For this, I offer you my everlasting gratitude. Many, many thanks.

Written by Not an Odalisque

April 3, 2010 at 1:00 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi! I have not lap danced or worked in clubs, but I do dance in studios for fun and because I wrote my thesis on exotic dance I can give you the names of a few books that might help you. These books all have either interview with dancers or are written by women who dance. They are: Real Live Nude Girls by Carol Queen, Stripping, Sex and Popular Culture by Catherine Roach. If I think of more I will post them for you. Good Luck!

    Claire Griffin Sterrett

    April 4, 2010 at 3:04 pm

  2. Thank you for the recommendations, I’ve have a look for those.

    I’m finding your blog very interesting. It is very well thought out, with some useful arguments, since I think I may fall into the ‘Outraged Feminist’ category. The more I read, though, the more I realise that my objections may have more to do with aesthetics than ideology.

    Many thanks for the book titles.

    notanodalisque

    April 5, 2010 at 9:02 pm


Leave a Reply

